Snap:Connect:Inspire

Think Feel ACT…"Write your own story"

WhatsApp Friends

Its been a while since I have written a post – and one of the main reasons is I have been busy developing, nurturing and immersing myself in new friendships.

Since moving to Melbourne one of my priorities has been developing, nurturing and strengthening friendships. Friends suddenly are more important in my life than they have ever been – particularly since we no longer have such close and frequent contact with family.

A month or so ago I had the chance to go on a weekend away with women from Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide and Brisbane. Initially I wasn’t sure – but when one of my friends here suggested I go because it would be an opportunity for her to get to know me better – I knew it was a golden opportunity to pursue my friendships goal.

School camp for grown ups

From flights, to bus rides and bunk beds it was like a school camp for grown ups. It was all the fun I wish I’d had in school but just didn’t. And it was fun primarily because of the inclusiveness and togetherness. It was an opportunity to reconnect with old friends and make new friends.

There was no sense of cliquiness that invades school age groups. We were free to join in groups or stay alone as we pleased and just generally be ourselves. It was refreshing and relaxing – and I haven’t laughed so much in a long time.

Connection and acceptance

This shared experience has brought me closer to so many wonderful women – and left a wonderful legacy of connection. An unplanned but wonderful outcome has been the growth of an active WhatsApp group comprised of many of the Melbourne women who travelled together on buses and planes.

This group of women connecting together on WhatsApp is truly remarkable. They have become a source of support and sisterly love of a kind that I have never encountered before. I have never before felt such a sense of connection to community and friendship.

The women in this group have helped soften many challenges of life, and their unconditional acceptance has held me connected to hope and light. Truly it feels miraculous and I’m honoured to be able to participate in a group like this.

Giving and receiving

And I’m honoured that I have the opportunity to be a support for others – not just receive support. The messages fly through cyberspace consistently throughout the day – and there is a risk for distraction from the sometimes tedious tasks of life to the welcoming arms of WhatsApp.

Sometimes the love is a bit too much and I have had times when I just needed to turn the alerts off so I could get some work done. I suspect others have too. But this hardly matters because whether you need a recipe, advice, moral support, whether you want to share achievements, philosophise or just feel like a laugh, the group is there to reconnect us from our often disconnected lives.

So to those who post regularly and those who post rarely you have come to hold a very special place in my life. Thanks to each of you for being uniquely you – and allowing me to enter into your world.

See in cyberspace soon 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. You are sooooo gifted!!!! This is great….. Xxx

    Ingrid Ozols +61 414 458 964

    On 2 Oct 2014, at 7:46 pm, “Snap:Connect:Inspire” wrote:

    WordPress.com Dr Jocelyn Lowinger posted: “Its been a while since I have written a post – and one of the main reasons is I have been busy developing, nurturing and immersing myself in new friendships. Since moving to Melbourne one of my priorities has been developing, nurturing and strengthenin”

Leave a Reply

